top of page

FOLLOW ME:

Senior Year & Senioritis

As school begins again I cannot help but reflect on the rollarcoaster ride that was my high school experience. A recent graduate of a quaint town in Alabama, I have four years of hands on experience when it comes to battling teenage girls, teenage BOYS ( can I stress the BOYS word one more time?), tests and the dreaded college applictaions. My most recent aquaintence with high school was that of the coveted Senior Year. Whether you are completely distraught over the thought of your last football game, last prom or last year with the friends you grew up with here is some advice that might make it a little more bareable.

1.) TAKE IT ALL IN!

Do not spend the whole year so upset over school papers, scholorship applications and college applications that you forget to enjoy each moment that comes with being a Senior. Slow down and relize it is ok to say no, you cannot be involved in every activity ever held at your high school (trust me I tried!). You don't want to look back on your Senior Year and see a huge haze just because you were so busy you never had the time to take in the great moments.

2.) JUNIOR COLLEGE IS NOT THE GRIM REAPER!

Yes I said it, and yes I realize I am telling you exactly what ever parent, teacher, advisor, and great- great aunt twice removed has been telling you since you began considering colleges. But it is the truth! I know just about everyone wants to move away, start a new life, and get away from the parents and a junior college sounds like the apocolypse but not so. A junior college offers an easier tansition which I am so grateful for. I did not realize how huge of a change it would be and honestly if I had to jump straight to a four year I would be runing home before the first class ever started. Plus it is so much cheaper, and do you want to be in debt with student loans until your 75? No, I didn't think so.

3.) A PLANNER WILL BE YOUR BEST FRIEND!

From kepping track of due dates to senior events this was my life line during senior year. My bestfriend intoduced me to the Lilly Pulitzer Planner and now I am indebted to her for the rest of my life! It is a little pricey for a planner but its so wonderful and vibrant I believe it is worth it. I used my planner daily during my senior year. Plus it gets you used to using it for college.

4.) BE NICE TO YOUR PARENTS!

They gave birth to you, suffered through your terrible two's, and watched you drive off in your first car they are entitled to a few tears. I know that it gets annoying, I know that you wish they would stop with the 2349990 pictures but they love you and are feeling just as sentimental as you are. Wheather you are the first child to graduate high school or the last as you are getting ready to grasp onto your new life they are having to let go of the only life they have known for eighteen years. So smile one more time and let mom snap those perfect pictures of your worst acne day!

5.) REMEMBER THE GREAT MOMENTS.

You hit a homerun in the famous rivil game. Your team advances to the play- offs. Write these moments down, put them in a special place because these are the moments you want tot remember. Eventually you will forget what is his name that will never mean more to you than a forgotten name. But, you will always remember the crowd at your last Theatre preformance or the last time you look around at your classmates as you sing the Alma Mater and feel the flood of emotions on everyone's face.


  • Facebook Clean Grey
  • Twitter Clean Grey
  • Instagram Clean Grey

RECENT POSTS: 

SEARCH BY TAGS: 

No tags yet.
bottom of page